Off trail recs from Pine Creek TH

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
liquidaddicted
Topix Novice
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Off trail recs from Pine Creek TH

Post by liquidaddicted »

Hello all!

My first post here... I have a permit for a 6-7 day trip leaving Pine Creek trailhead on 8/12/24 and I have a few questions. One- I am new to the permit system in the Sierra- my pass says that I can't go toward Gable lakes or Italy pass- Does this mean ever throughout the whole trip, or just not directly from the trailhead.

My next question involves route suggestions. I am moderately experienced in off trail travel. I was out in the Winds 2 summers ago and did multiple 6 day loops in there. I had the Pallister (WanderingDaisy on here I believe- I'm a long time lurker) book that well outlined various routes and so I do not have much experience figuring this out on my own. Looking for class 2-ish routes. Would love to loop or lollipop if possible. The equivalent of 10-ish trail miles per day or so. Looking at the pinned suggestion post- I would say that I have level 3 experience. I don't really want to go much above class 2- I maybe solo. I don't love snow/glacier travel as I don't have much experience with this either.

Can anyone help me plan my route or point me in the right direction? I would appreciate it so much. I just ordered the Roper book and the trekking California book. As I hope this will be the first of many trips for me in the Sierra. I love book recommendations as well

Thanks so much
liquidaddicted
Topix Novice

Re: Off trail recs from Pine Creek TH

Post by liquidaddicted »

My current thought is something like: