SEKI 3-Nighter Suggestions

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
mt.eo
Topix Novice
Experience: Level 2 Backpacker

SEKI 3-Nighter Suggestions

Post by mt.eo »

Hi everyone! I'm pretty new to the whole SEKI permit process, and I have been trying to get permits to backpack to Hamilton Lake from Crescent Meadow, but the HST permits are nearly impossible to get. I'm going to continue trying for the next few days, but I was curious if anyone had any alternatives. I'm looking for something around 35 miles for a 3 night trip. Since the trip is in August, high elevations are preferred, but any suggestions help!
FrankPS
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: SEKI 3-Nighter Suggestions

Post by FrankPS »

I think you could start from Wolverton as an alternate to Crescent Meadow.
mt.eo
Topix Novice
Experience: Level 2 Backpacker

Post by mt.eo »

FrankPS wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 12:09 pm I think you could start from Wolverton as an alternate to Crescent Meadow.
Thanks for the reply! What trailhead permit would I try to secure in that case? I'm seeing Alta is ineligible for HST travel.
BigTubs
Topix Acquainted

Post by BigTubs »

There's the Lakes Trail and Lakes Trail Pass-through (via Wolverton), which are walk-up permits, and would require cross-country to end up at Hamilton.

Alternatively, you could go in via Sugarloaf and Elizabeth Pass down to the HST, but that would put you in at higher mileage. Could add a night!
FrankPS
Topix Acquainted

Post by FrankPS »

30 permits a day are issued for the HST. 20 of those are reservable. You could show up the day before to get one of the 10 remaining walk-up permits. Be at the visitor center where the permits are issued right at 1 PM (or is it 3 PM?) to get your HST walk-up permit.