White Divide & Tunemah Lake - September 13-22, 2023

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
Slepak
Topix Novice
Experience: Level 2 Backpacker

White Divide & Tunemah Lake - September 13-22, 2023

Post by Slepak »

Ionian Basin was my desired destination this year but due to record snowfall I was prepared that I might have to change my plans. I have no experience with snow travel, and satellite photos were still showing a lot of snow in the Basin, so I started to think about the Goddard Creek and Tunemah Lake instead. I was inspired by Harlen and Paul trip reports from 2021 and 2022 and that's how my plan to go around the White Divide was created. The original plan was 10 days, but due to family matters I had to return to Chicago a day earlier, so I squeezed it in 9. Here is my trip report (please excuse my English, as it is my second language).
The first day (travel day) did not start as planned because my 5am flight from Chicago to Dallas was late and I missed connecting flight to Fresno. Instead of 9am I arrived after 1pm but fortunately my checked backpack arrived with me and after renting a car and quick shopping (propane fuel for my stove) I picked my permit up at High Sierra Ranger Station in Prater and off I went to the mountains! I arrived at Maxson TH parking after 5pm and immediately started heading toward Voyager Campground. I expected the campground to be empty in mid-September, and it was. I had entire place to myself and as the sun was setting, I pitched my tent. It was a long day and I slept like a baby.
Day 1