Late-season Yosemite backpacking recs - overnight parking

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
ketoile
Topix Novice
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Late-season Yosemite backpacking recs - overnight parking

Post by ketoile »

I'm planning a Yosemite trip starting the 22nd, as of now, looks like the weather will hold for an overnight and Tioga Pass will be open. I'm just learning about the October 15th parking closure. Does this mean overnight parking anywhere along 120 is totally out of the question even if the road's open and there's no weather in the forecast? (I do understand why they close parking so the clueless don't get stuck when there is snow.) I'd really love to do something starting from the Tenaya Lake zone. What happens, are the trailhead lots gated? Do they ticket you? Can you park at the Wilderness Center since it's open for self-registration?

Second question: assuming the Tuolumne zone is out, what's a good one-nighter starting from the Valley that doesn't feel like a superhighway or include sufferfest switchbacks (Yosemite Falls, Snow Creek)? I'm an experienced backpacker, so I'm not interested in camping at Little Yosemite Valley, for example. Looking for views, backcountry campsites, available water.

Thanks!
c9h13no3
Topix Fanatic
Experience: Level 1 Hiker

Re: Late-season Yosemite backpacking recs - overnight parking

Post by c9h13no3 »

Park car outside of the no parking area. Then, hitch/bike/rollerblade to the trailhead of your choice. Hike back to your car.

Any trail out of the valley will climb... out of the Valley. I don't know what to tell you about the elevation gain. Maybe try the Chiquito Pass, Saddlebag Lake, Annett's Mono Village or Kibbie Lake if you wanna get into Yosemite without NPS red tape?
"Adventure is just bad planning." - Roald Amundsen