Feedback for Westfall Meadow to Ostrander Lake loop?

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
marmotsgalore
Topix Novice
Experience: Level 2 Backpacker

Feedback for Westfall Meadow to Ostrander Lake loop?

Post by marmotsgalore »

Hi, I am planning a weekend backpacking trip and would like some feedback.

The route is a Westfall Meadow -> Ostrander Lake loop, map here: https://www.alltrails.com/explore/map/m ... 23-7eb5ac3

Day before:

Drive to Yosemite Valley backpacker's campground and stay the night

Day 1:

Pick up permit from YV wilderness center

Hike to and camp at Ostrander Lake (~14 mi)

Day 2:

Hike back to trailhead (~6-7 mi)

Is there anything I'm missing or violating? This is my first time backpacking this area and I'm trying to make sure I'm following all the rules, such as picking up the permit in person and not backtracking onto any other trailhead besides when exiting.

This is also a route I haven't really seen done since most people start at Bridalveil or Ostrander trailhead, so that's another unknown factor.

Thank you.
c9h13no3
Topix Fanatic
Experience: Level 1 Hiker

Re: Feedback for Westfall Meadow to Ostrander Lake loop?

Post by c9h13no3 »

Looks legit. The route goes through the 2017 Empire fire scar, and is pretty low elevation for mid-summer (hot). I expect that's why you haven't seen trip reports about the route previously.
"Adventure is just bad planning." - Roald Amundsen
Also, I have a blog no one reads. Please do not click here.
sparky
Topix Fanatic
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Post by sparky »