SEKI Loop, Sept 12-20, 2022

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
CAMERONM
Topix Expert
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

SEKI Loop, Sept 12-20, 2022

Post by CAMERONM »

Sequoia-Kings Canyon Loop, September 13-20; 64 miles, 17,000 ft, 8 days.

A rare convergence leads to a trip: I have some free time; my son is available to join me; the weather forecast is good; and there are no fires. I plan a loop hike that is essentially half-Sierra High Route (off trail) and JMT/Rae Lakes trail, with many small diversions I have never done before along the way. The map below shows the final journey where we simplified and did not do most of the diversions I had hoped for.
This post is a very short version; you can view the entire trip report here:
https://www.trailnamebackstroke.com/seki-loop
SEKI OVERALL.jpg
2022-09-13 17.34.35-1.jpg
We time the hike to jump in at the earliest moment where the weather clears up, knowing that the first day could be a bit wet. The Copper Creek Trail is a brutal 5,500’ foot high-altitude ascent to the first camp, so the lack of sun on the first day is actually a welcome circumstance.
2022-09-14 06.58.26.jpg
We camp just short of Granite Lake on a slightly higher flat area, nevertheless we are next to a bog which means that in the morning all of our equipment is absolutely soaked wet, and it is damn cold.
2022-09-15 11.14.34.jpg
The largest of the Horseshoe Lakes has a giant rock making an excellent place to camp and to sun and swim.
2022-09-15 15.12.03.jpg
I particularly enjoy the sequence between Gray pass and Red Pass. There is a nice small lake and basin with a great distant view, and an enchanting waterfall and pool area just above that I somehow missed the last time I came through here.
2022-09-15 15.14.08.jpg
CLIFFOUT.jpg