Trip Advice Yosemite - Pohono Trail area

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
wsp_scott
Topix Regular
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Trip Advice Yosemite - Pohono Trail area

Post by wsp_scott »

Based on @Wandering Daisy and @maiathebee trip reports, I have a permit for Yosemite starting on June 11. I mostly know what I'm planning on doing, but it is my first time to Yosemite and I figured that I would pick everyone's brains for additional ideas. Main goal is to take advantage of Glacier Point road closure and the Pohono Trail without crowds.

Last summer trip to give an idea about ability/interests (~70 miles and 20000' elevation) viewtopic.php?f=1&t=22151

Plans (My permit is past LYV)
Fly to SFO and drive to Yosemite Valley (1st night in the backpacker's CG) Hope to get there early enough to get my permit.

1st day - Mist Trail to Echo Valley area. It looks like there is a good campsite not far past Bunnell Cascade near the bridge if I'm tired. Or on to Echo Valley.
2nd day - Connector trail North and West to the JMT and then the Forsyth Trail
3rd day - Over Clouds Rest and down to LYV (maybe continue towards Illilouette Creek Starr King area)
4th day - Panorama Trail to Glacier Point to Bridalveil Creek
5th day - Stanford Point
6th day - Tunnel View and hike the valley back to Backpacker's CG

7th day - 2nd permit - Yosemite Falls up to Eagle Point and El Cap
8th day - North Dome (I know I can't camp on the summit)
9th day - Tenaya Creek to Backpacker's CG

10th day - Drive towards Point Reyes (Samuel Taylor SP) for two nights before I catch my return flight.

Questions (feel free to PM me if you don't want to reply to this thread)
1) Parking for Backpacker's CG? It looks like North Pines is completely open so I assume I can just cut through to the Backpackers CG from the trailhead parking.