GCT and/or Hetch Hetchy late June

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
webdweeb
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

GCT and/or Hetch Hetchy late June

Post by webdweeb »

I spent a lovely day hiking out and back to Rancheria Falls last week and am now thinking about a backpack in Hetch Hetchy for a late June date. Since this also seems to be a good time to hike the GCT, I started playing with a route on Caltopo between the HH trailhead and Tuolumne Meadows. I am also looking at one of several possible loops that start and end at the HH trailhead-they kinda look like nested loops, with the apex at Tilden, Wilma, Brannigan and Vernon Lakes. When I was there last week, the temperatures were perfect at the reservoir level, but my expectation is it would be hotter in late June for that segment of any of these routes (as well as most of the GCT). If anyone here has experience with or recommendations for any of these route possibilities for a late June date range, I would be most appreciative of your input.
rormisto
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: GCT and/or Hetch Hetchy late June

Post by rormisto »