Permits, lottery, Yosemite?

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
trekkerman
Topix Newbie
Experience: N/A

Permits, lottery, Yosemite?

Post by trekkerman »

:paranoid: I know nothing about this so....Are there drawings (lottery) to backpack YNP? Are the permits difficult (next to impossible?) to get.
What are (is) the most popular (or best) routes? What's the procedure?
Keep it simple as I am just beginning to think about doing something in YNP.
Thanks,
Trekkerman in Pinedale, Wyoming & Base Camp for the Wind River Range.
http://www.trekkerman.com
AlmostThere
Topix Addict
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: Permits, lottery, Yosemite?

Post by AlmostThere »

Read the wilderness permit page on the Yosemite website, www.nps.gov/yose
Follow directions.
There is a lottery for Half Dome permits. Not backpacking permits. 40% of the wilderness permits are held back for walk ins, which start the day BEFORE the date of the permit. For very popular trailheads you will have to show up early at the wilderness office the day before, and stand in line, for a walk in. If you are very lucky with a fax machine or getting through by phone, 168 days prior to your (hoped) starting date, you can reserve the permit of your dreams and be able to pick it up any time the day before OR the day of your hike, as long as you get there before 10 am -or- you call them the day before and tell them you will be there after 10 am (if you can't get there before). If you don't pick up a reserved permit it is handed out to the next walk in who asks for it.