Looking for feedback on 2 week trip from Lake Thomas Edison

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
bwd
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 2 Backpacker

Looking for feedback on 2 week trip from Lake Thomas Edison

Post by bwd »

Hello all!

I am planning a two week trip (starting ~ Aug 22) from Lake Thomas Edison. I am currently planning on this route (157 miles, 13 nights):
https://caltopo.com/m/2V90
I have posted some questions below but would generally be game to get any feedback about the trip that people felt like sharing.

Specific questions:
-I am currently planning for resupplies at MTR and Red's. Given the route I have planned, I could potentially do two resupplies at Red's. This seems like overkill, but I've never done a resupply before (e.g., not sure how long it takes). Should I be planning for maximal resupply?
-As noted below, this will be my first foray into xc travel. I have picked two areas (Humphrey's Basin & the high route between Ediza Lake and 1000 island lake) that seem like good terrain for such a foray. I'm still researching specifics on those areas (the route on the topo is only meant to be suggestive at this point), but I'm open to advice on this front.
-I am currently planning on hitting the Ivo Bell Hot Springs at the end of the trip. My initial recon suggests this might be a well-deserved soak by that point, but I'm not seeing much on hst about those hot springs. Are they worth it?
-I'm fairly confident that a permit shouldn't be an issue if I apply soon, but it'd be good to know if I should think about that differently. I've never gotten a NF permit (only NPS ones) so am making assumptions based on limited info.

Pertinent information:
-I would say I am currently level 2 and using this trip to start to break into level 3.
-Comfortable with class 1 and feeling ready for class 2!