Chocolate Rave

Have a favorite trail recipe or technique you'd like to share? Please do! We also like reviews of various trail food products out there. The Backcountry Food Topix forum is the place to discuss all things related to food and nourishment while in the Sierra wilderness (as well as favorite trail head eateries).
maverick
Forums Moderator
Forums Moderator
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Chocolate Rave

Post by maverick »

As some of you know I am a chef and sometimes this means conducting chocolate
tasting (yeah I know life is difficult, but someone has to do it :D ).
Any ways this is a rave about a fantastic chocolate that my taste buds are just going
nuts over, as is everyone's else who has tasted it.
It is made by Theo, and called a Salted Almond Dark Chocolate 70% Bar.
Let me tell you folks this is a chocoholics crack, the dark chocolate compliments the
salt & almonds perfectly unlike other Theo, or other brand bars that use salt.
The key is that they use a higher percentage chocolate (others use around 50%) and
the salt is mixed into the chocolate as opposed to sprinkled on top.
There is a wave of dark chocolate followed by a smaller but complimenting salt
wave that is so perfect, followed by a mellow almond flavor, ending with a
slightly salty after taste, but nothing overpowering. Wow.
This will is the perfect bar of chocolate to share with yourself or your partner at
the end of the long day of backpacking! Pure ecstasy my friends only a chocoholic
can understand.
Available here, and many other stores.
https://www.theochocolate.com/store/pro ... -chocolate" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Professional Sierra Landscape Photographer

I don't give out specific route information, my belief is that it takes away from the whole adventure spirit of a trip, if you need every inch planned out, you'll have to get that from someone else.