Android, AT&T unable to post

Instead of emailing or messaging the Admins or Mods with technical support questions or comments about the site, we prefer you check here to see if someone else has had the same difficulty or has made the same suggestion. What you're after might have already been posted and addressed here or within the FAQ. If not, please post a detailed description of the problem/suggestion and someone from the HST team will address your needs shortly. If you can't login/post and are unable to reset your password on your own, you may contact us directly.
User avatar
frediver
Topix Regular
Posts: 268
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:15 pm
Experience: N/A
Location: n.cal

Re: Android, AT&T unable to post

Post by frediver » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:47 pm

Yep and that is why I kept after the issue.
We have ATT DSL and I have ATT cell
Finally we found that it is the way ATT handles my cell data
that is causing the problem.








User avatar
ERIC
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
Posts: 3154
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:13 am
Experience: Level 4 Explorer
Location: between the 916 and 661

Re: Android, AT&T unable to post

Post by ERIC » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:05 pm

Great! Glad you're getting somewhere with them on this issue. Be sure to post back here what the ultimate solution ended up being.
New members, please consider giving us an intro!
Follow us on Twitter @HighSierraTopix. Use hashtags #SIERRAPHILE #GotSierra? #GotMountains?
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HighSierraTopix

User avatar
ERIC
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
Posts: 3154
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:13 am
Experience: Level 4 Explorer
Location: between the 916 and 661

Re: Android, AT&T unable to post

Post by ERIC » Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:46 pm

Test posts will have the same result whether here or elsewhere on HST. That said, let's please keep those confined to this thread, or if elsewhere, please delete right away after testing.

Cheers,
ERIC
New members, please consider giving us an intro!
Follow us on Twitter @HighSierraTopix. Use hashtags #SIERRAPHILE #GotSierra? #GotMountains?
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HighSierraTopix

User avatar
rlown
Topix Docent
Posts: 7210
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:00 pm
Experience: Level 4 Explorer
Location: Petaluma, CA

Re: Android, AT&T unable to post

Post by rlown » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:02 pm

I'm posting this on behalf of Markskor. He has an AT&T MiFi device hooked up to his pc as his internet connection. He has been using this device for a couple weeks.

Today, suddenly, he got the following error message when trying to post:
Tried to post...can't...says -


Your IP 166.137.209.164 has been blocked because it is blacklisted. For details please seehttp://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=166.137.209.164" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;.


can you help?
Mark
I believe it is related to this thread and maybe even AT&T, but we're scanning his PC anyway for malware. His MiFi device treats his connection like a cell phone data service.

Frediver, what was the result of your inquiries with AT&T?

Russ

User avatar
ERIC
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
Posts: 3154
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:13 am
Experience: Level 4 Explorer
Location: between the 916 and 661

Re: Android, AT&T unable to post

Post by ERIC » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:20 pm

It is the same issue.
Sorry, Mark.. :(
New members, please consider giving us an intro!
Follow us on Twitter @HighSierraTopix. Use hashtags #SIERRAPHILE #GotSierra? #GotMountains?
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HighSierraTopix

User avatar
frediver
Topix Regular
Posts: 268
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:15 pm
Experience: N/A
Location: n.cal

Re: Android, AT&T unable to post

Post by frediver » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:29 pm

Not really sure what they actually did but I think they suppressed part of my address.
I outlined the steps in my first posts and as I understand it the 1st steps they played with they
then made permanent.
Truth is the spam blocker as I understand it blocks a range of addresses that a spammer falls into
and if your address is in that block you are banned as well. Getting ATT to change your address block will not happen nor will getting Spamhaus to unblock the range of addresses containing the spammer and you.

The test sock I think became permanent.

User avatar
markskor
Founding Member & Forums Administrator
Founding Member & Forums Administrator
Posts: 2373
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 5:41 pm
Experience: Level 4 Explorer
Location: Mammoth Lakes

Re: Android, AT&T unable to post

Post by markskor » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:55 pm

Intermittent AT&T BS

Works once - lets me post...then a bad IP address and says blocked.
Funny that I use an MiFi wireless carrier (AT&T) and (if I understand this right) should give a new IP address each time I log in. Some IP's are blacklisted and thus are then blocked here.
AT&T denies any fault.
crapola.
Mountainman who swims with trout

User avatar
frediver
Topix Regular
Posts: 268
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:15 pm
Experience: N/A
Location: n.cal

Re: Android, AT&T unable to post

Post by frediver » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:02 pm

I feel like laughing, almost, but I know exactly what you are going thru.
I could use my laptop wireless at home and use my cell on wi-fi at hd
but as soon as I used my cell data link I was blocked.
This issue sucks big wind!

User avatar
rlown
Topix Docent
Posts: 7210
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:00 pm
Experience: Level 4 Explorer
Location: Petaluma, CA

Re: Android, AT&T unable to post

Post by rlown » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:17 pm

I'm guessing AT&T hasn't figured out that Spamhaus could run them out of rotating IP addresses and drive up their support costs. Long live DHCP!

User avatar
ERIC
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
Posts: 3154
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:13 am
Experience: Level 4 Explorer
Location: between the 916 and 661

Re: Android, AT&T unable to post

Post by ERIC » Wed Dec 12, 2012 10:50 pm

It's not just Spamhaus, either. AT&T hasn't figured this one out for any of the major blacklist services. They could save themselves a lot of trouble and just target the customers using their ISP services for SPAM and revoke service (which is within their power), but shoot, that'd be rocking the boat and messing with shareholder profits.. :dontknow
New members, please consider giving us an intro!
Follow us on Twitter @HighSierraTopix. Use hashtags #SIERRAPHILE #GotSierra? #GotMountains?
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HighSierraTopix

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest