gmap4 embeds

Instead of emailing or messaging the Admins or Mods with technical support questions or comments about the site, we prefer you check here to see if someone else has had the same difficulty or has made the same suggestion. What you're after might have already been posted and addressed here or within the FAQ. If not, please post a detailed description of the problem/suggestion and someone from the HST team will address your needs shortly. If you can't login/post and are unable to reset your password on your own, you may contact us directly.
Post Reply
User avatar
fishmonger
Topix Fanatic
Posts: 1163
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:27 am
Experience: Level 4 Explorer
Location: Madison, WI
Contact:

gmap4 embeds

Post by fishmonger » Fri May 20, 2011 9:39 am

so I tried everything to emebd a GMAP link with the buttons on the menu. All I got was the code in the message body.

Was that because I didn't do it first time, but after a message edit?

let's try again - I have a longitude/lattiude and a full URL to the map:

http://www.mappingsupport.com/p/gmap4.p ... &z=15&t=t2" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

do I embed that with the full tag? let's try that first (Gmap4 button)
http://www.mappingsupport.com/p/gmap4.p ... &z=15&t=t2

and maybe with the gmap4LL button?

[Gmap4LL]http://www.mappingsupport.com/p/gmap4.p ... &z=15&t=t2[/Gmap4LL]

or is this thing smart and only wants the LL from me, maybe with zoom level and map type?

[Gmap4LL]36.787471,-118.376801&z=15&t=t2[/Gmap4LL]

or just the two LL values?

36.787471,-118.376801

well, in preview, I see only the last one working. I suppose that's good enough for most, as it chose the map type and zoom level I would have picked. So what's the syntax for the regular gmap4 button? it appears to prepend the URL up to the q= part - is that where I throw in a gpx file URL?








User avatar
Joseph
Topix Acquainted
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:15 pm
Experience: N/A

Re: gmap4 embeds

Post by Joseph » Fri May 20, 2011 5:54 pm

Hi Fish,

Thanks for using Gmap4. Let me see if I can shed light.
Eric has programmed 2 Gmap4 buttons. All together now - Thanks Eric!

#1. Gmap4 button
If you (1) have a GPX, KML, KMZ, TPO file and (2) you have put that file online,
then paste the URL to your file between the Gmap4 tags and hit "Preview'.
You should see your post with a map displaying your file.

#2. Gmap4LL button
Yes, I think your post is correct.
If you post a lat,lng between these tags, then you will get a map centered on that spot

Joseph

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests