For my 56th birthday

How do you prepare for the rigorous physical requirements of high elevation adventure? Strength and endurance are key, but are only part of a more complex equation. How do you prepare for changes in altitude, exposure, diet, etc.? How do you mentally prepare? Learn from others and share what you know about training in advance for outdoor adventures.
dave54
Founding Member
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

For my 56th birthday

Post by dave54 »

I just did 56 nonstop pushups, then immediately plopped over and did 60 situps nonstop. According to the on-line fitness calculators, these are the 100th percentile for a 56 year old male in both tests. Of course, I have been building up to this for 6 months...

and my shoulders are now sore.
=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~
Log off and get outdoors!
~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=
ERIC
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator

Re: For my 56th birthday

Post by ERIC »

Happy birthday, Dave. At 34 years young, I don't think I could do much better than that (sit-ups, probably even less). Impressive!
New members, please consider giving us an intro!
Follow us on Twitter @HighSierraTopix. Use hashtags #SIERRAPHILE #GotSierra? #GotMountains?
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HighSierraTopix
BSquared
Founding Member
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Post by BSquared »

Yes, happy birthday! I'm planning to run (well, OK, jog) 65 "laps" for my 65th this coming October (that'll be 16 1/4 miles, right?). Sounds like a loooong way to me, but we'll see... ;) I figure going public like this will encourage me to actually do it... :whistle:
—B²
mokelumnekid
Topix Expert
Experience: N/A

Post by mokelumnekid »

Thanks for that I need the motivation. I did the same on my 50th, but at 57 now welcome these new challanges. Exercise is the key to a quality life, that and a loving partner/companion.
dave54
Founding Member

Post by dave54 »

mokelumnekid wrote:... that and a loving partner/companion.