Ediza Lake

Topics covering photography and videography of the flora, fauna and landscape of the Sierra Nevada mountains. Show off your talent. Post your photos and videos here!
maverick
Forums Moderator
Forums Moderator
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Ediza Lake

Post by maverick »

As some of you are aware, I do professional photography for a living, at least partially, and mostly of the Sierra. It has been a while since sharing a fine art piece with you here on HST, so at this time, I would like to share this very special piece with you.

Have you heard of this lake or visited Ediza Lake before? As many of you know, it is one of the crown jewels of the Sierra, but as many photographers know, mother nature rarely presents us with all those special little extras, which produce a masterpiece, that stands out from the rest, and more importantly compliments the subject matter adequately, but this piece captures the area in all its glory.

This was taken during a several day photography outing to the Minarets area of the Sierra, there were numerous storms during this trip, and after arriving on day 5 to the Ediza area, I was presented with one of the most spectacular sailor's sunrises I have ever witnessed.

Ediza and the inlet creek were on fire, the granite on the left, bottom, and right side of the art piece are kissed by the subtle red light bouncing off the monstrous clouds above, and the beautiful texture of the granite around the lake, with sprinkles of snow on the right, all add to this once in a lifetime piece. One can also see the trail beneath my position, in the center near the lake, and the cloud build up with the circular motion, adds even more to the drama, especially the funnel form of the cloud above Ediza.

Click on the piece to get a larger view, but don't expect it to be crystal sharp (on purpose) or for the colors and brightness to be exact, most monitors are not calibrated, so these factors will vary.