What tripod do you use and carry and why...

Topics covering photography and videography of the flora, fauna and landscape of the Sierra Nevada mountains. Show off your talent. Post your photos and videos here!
scrotata
Topix Acquainted
Experience: N/A

What tripod do you use and carry and why...

Post by scrotata »

Hello HST...

I am curious what some other folks use and why they use it.

I am in the market for a tripod to use on backpacking trips and just normal travel/hiking, etc.

I am not a professional, but enjoy making memories on my trips. I use a Nikon D7000 with a 10-24 lens primarily.

Looking for something sturdy, flexible, reliable, etc. and something adaptable to shooting in the mountains (i.e. rough terrain, strange angles, etc.) most importantly it cannot be too heavy and really something that does not break the wallet (i.e. ideally under $300).

Thank in advance!!

Michael
ExploreABitMore
Topix Regular
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: What tripod do you use and carry and why...

Post by ExploreABitMore »

I ended up getting the Benro C1682TV1 Carbon Travel Angel II and have been real happy with it. Was around $400 though, IIRC. I liked it because it seemed to have a short length with all legs contracted compared to other models (that I could afford anyhow!), so a little easier for packing. I splurged for the carbon model for weight reduction, but it's not that much lighter than some of the aluminum models, so not sure how much I saved there really. I guess the carbon is also supposed to help with vibrations, which I liked the sounds of for the long exposure night sky photography, but once again I'm not sure how much of a difference it's really making, if any. Legs contract/expand real easily, legs adjust to the uneven ground as you mentioned, resists dirt/dust very well so far, nice handle that isn't too cold to touch on those frigid nights, ball head works well enough.

Overall, seems like a nice tripod I've been happy with over many trips now.