Footprint, yes or no?

Share your advice and personal experiences, post a gear review or ask any questions you may have pertaining to outdoor gear and equipment.
rayfound
Topix Expert
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Footprint, yes or no?

Post by rayfound »

So... I just became the joint owner of a Sierra Designs Sirius 3, and it came with a footprint (It doesn't come standard, but did come with what we bought on Steep and Cheep - back when they used to sell actual outdoors gear, not watches, man-purses, Luggage, and sunglasses).

I've never used a footprint before, and I'm not really sure as to what advantage there is to carrying the extra weight. I'm heading out next weekend and I am not sure if I want to take it or not.

What do you guys do? Leave it home or take it along?
cvr
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Re: Footprint, yes or no?

Post by cvr »

I have never used a footprint with any tent I have owned. I currently use an '05 (maybe '04) Sierra Designs Lightning. It logs 20+ days in the backcountry each season and shows very little wear on the bottom. Somewhat careful site selection (although not obsessivley so) and quick removal of large twigs and rocks is all the effort I have ever put forth.

I say, save the weight and leave the footprint at home...instead, bring along extra fishing gear or libation. :drinkers:
ERIC
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Post by ERIC »

I have a Sirius 2 and don't use a footprint. I've also ditched some stakes, the guy-lines, tags and everything else I could to drop a couple of ounces.
New members, please consider giving us an intro!
Follow us on Twitter @HighSierraTopix. Use hashtags #SIERRAPHILE #GotSierra? #GotMountains?
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HighSierraTopix
gary c.
Topix Fanatic
Experience: N/A

Post by gary c. »

I've never taken mine along eaither, so far I've seen no damage to the floor.