Alcohol Stove Efficiency

Share your advice and personal experiences, post a gear review or ask any questions you may have pertaining to outdoor gear and equipment.
Hetchy
Topix Regular
Experience: N/A

Alcohol Stove Efficiency

Post by Hetchy »

I have been busy lately building and comparing Alcohol stoves. In particular the Penny stove made with Heineken cans and..well, a penny.
I have been trying to figure out if the 4 oz weight of my store bought Mini Trangia(Made by fellow Swede's for 150 years) is worth it's weight over a "beer" can stove.

What I found:

Weight wise it is no comparison.
The Mini Trangia is 4 OZ with a dry wick... period.
The Penny stove does not even register on my kitchen scale.

But being an amateur physicist I wanted to know the total efficiency of each to compare their respective fuel/weight burdens over time.
What I found is admittedly not the final word or even objective. I welcome any comments or suggestions. If anyone has a different experience I would love to hear it.. indeed that is the point of my posting! :nod:
So, here goes:
The Trangia, dry, given 1 fluid oz of Denatured alcohol at 60 degrees F(fuel and stove) will boil 2 cups of 56 F water in 9 minutes with fuel to spare. The stove was extinguished, allowed to cool, capped and put into the freezer(simulate overnight).
The Penny stove given 1 fluid oz of denatured Alcohol at 60 degrees will boil 2 cups of 56 F water in 8 minutes. Water was poured out and 1 cup of 56 degree water was added immediately. The Penny burned for 2 more minutes heating the "third" cup to 140 degrees. The Penny had totally expended it's fuel.
The Trangia was now retrieved from the freezer and relit. 1 cup of 56 F water is placed on it. It reaches boil in 5 1/2 minutes. The cup is dumped and a fresh cup of 56 F water is placed on the stove. The Trangia runs dry after 2 minutes with the second(actually fourth!) cup of water reaching 140 F.

Interesting.