Article on Women's gear

Share your advice and personal experiences, post a gear review or ask any questions you may have pertaining to outdoor gear and equipment.
balzaccom
Topix Addict
Experience: N/A

Article on Women's gear

Post by balzaccom »

This is a nice article by Kate Worteck for Elle. It's well written, funny, and spot on. Here's how it starts:

Last fall, a friend and I were packing up for a weekend of backpacking in the Desolation Wilderness. She's a badass professional guide and I work in the outdoor industry, so naturally we started comparing gear—which led to a list of all of the gear we'd passed on buying because it was only available in "girl colors." At times, we've both resorted to shopping in the boys' section of REI (size-wise, it turns out that I'm either a slim woman or a very strapping 12-year-old boy).

And here's a link to the rest of the story:

https://www.elle.com/culture/career-pol ... door-gear/
Check our our website: http://www.backpackthesierra.com/
Or just read a good mystery novel set in the Sierra; https://www.amazon.com/Danger-Falling-R ... 0984884963
rightstar76
Topix Expert

Re: Article on Women's gear

Post by rightstar76 »

Last edited by rightstar76 on Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
John Harper
Topix Expert

Post by John Harper »

Not a surprise. Women have been exploited in almost every possible way for years. Expensive clothes, healthcare, pay equity, job opportunity, the list goes on.

Glad we finally have a President that has ultimate respect for women! A great role model for our sons! You won't hear him calling women derogatory names or cheating on his wife.

Oops, never mind.

John
mrphil
Topix Regular
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Post by mrphil »

I'm usually a muted colors kind of guy, but the fact is, they do specifically market to women in colors and styles, and I'm often wishing that some of the selection was available to men.