Bear Canister capacity

Share your advice and personal experiences, post a gear review or ask any questions you may have pertaining to outdoor gear and equipment.
longri
Topix Fanatic
Experience: N/A

Bear Canister capacity

Post by longri »

I've been backpacking in the Sierra for 30 years. Somewhere in there bear canisters became mandatory for many places. But even though I've stuffed them with food for something close to 20 years I have never really figured it out. That is, I can't fit all my food a large of percentage of the time.

Case in point. I went on a three night trip with my wife a couple of months ago. We had no problem with the weight of the food. It all fit easily in our packs. No problem. But the first night when we tried to stuff it into the canister, it wouldn't fit. No way, not even close. Because of a late start we had camped at a different place than intended and, by accident, there happened to be a bearbox nearby. So we were able to secure our food okay. Otherwise I'm not sure what I would have done in that particular situation. The next night we managed, just barely, to fit everything. I really had to stomp on it though and I knew some items were getting damaged.

We were two people with a Bearikade Expedition (900 cu. in.) and after dinner the first night on a three night trip our food wouldn't fit. Granted, we had more lunch food than we really needed. But this wasn't the first time our food wouldn't fit. On one weeklong trip we couldn't fit all of our food and trash into our two 600 cu. in. canisters until the penultimate night.

I know others have trouble too. And not everyone deals with the overflow in an intelligent manner. I've always managed to secure my food from bears in the Sierra backcountry although not always in a way that was technically legal.