Is BA Double Z Pad (1.5 R-Value) Warm Enough?

Share your advice and personal experiences, post a gear review or ask any questions you may have pertaining to outdoor gear and equipment.
powderhound
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Is BA Double Z Pad (1.5 R-Value) Warm Enough?

Post by powderhound »

I decided my NeoAir is too thin for me (side sleeper) and picked up a Big Agnes Double Z on sale. I'm wondering about the R-rating though--will it be too cold for the high Sierra in the summer? I have a 20 degree bag, sleep in thermals, and generally run pretty warm, but I keep reading that 1.5 it too low. The only time I ever got cold with my current setup was at Guitar Lake on a really cold night, and I solved my problem by sleeping in my down jacket and wearing an extra pair of socks.

Should I return the Double Z and pick up a Q-Core SL (for about double the price), or should I just not worry about it? Would it make a difference at all if I carried a space blanket to throw under the sleeping pad on really cold nights?
AlmostThere
Topix Addict
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: Is BA Double Z Pad (1.5 R-Value) Warm Enough?

Post by AlmostThere »

You could add a ccf like the Z rest to it and bump it to 2.5, and probably do okay.

Foam pads make good sit pads, and are a good backup to an inflatable that can start to leak if punctured.
maverick
Forums Moderator
Forums Moderator

Post by maverick »

You could add a ccf like the Z rest to it and bump it to 2.5, and probably do okay.

Foam pads make good sit pads, and are a good backup to an inflatable that can start to leak if punctured.
:thumbsup:
This set -up adds versatility for a minimal weight and you can leave it home on lower elevation trips if you want too.
Professional Sierra Landscape Photographer

I don't give out specific route information, my belief is that it takes away from the whole adventure spirit of a trip, if you need every inch planned out, you'll have to get that from someone else.