Getting into Hammocks

Share your advice and personal experiences, post a gear review or ask any questions you may have pertaining to outdoor gear and equipment.
zacjust32
Topix Regular
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Getting into Hammocks

Post by zacjust32 »

Hey all,

I'm just starting to get into backpacking after day hiking just about everything I can in SEKI and I'm looking for some new sleeping/shelters. My first backpacking trip was 6 days this summer with my uncle: the infamous Rae Lakes Loop, counterclockwise with side trips to Kearsarge Pass and Gardiner Basin. I'm currently thinking about a hammock/tarp setup because of it's modularity and potential weight savings over a full sized tent. I'm new to the idea of hammocks and tarps so I was hoping to get some feedback from users here on what they do. I am going to school full time at Fresno State, so if I have to choose between price and weight, I may compromise where many of you won't. :) I don't have a sleeping bag currently either so I'm also looking into quilts if it's easier to use in the hammock. If you have any suggestions I'm glad to hear and consider them.

-Zac
rlown
Topix Docent
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: Getting into Hammocks

Post by rlown »

check out viewtopic.php?f=15&t=5420&p=33925&hilit=hammock#p33925

AlmostThere is our hammock "advocate." :nod:

You can use the site's search function and look for quilt or hammock.
maverick
Forums Moderator
Forums Moderator

Post by maverick »

My first backpacking trip was 6 days this summer with my uncle: the infamous Rae Lakes Loop, counterclockwise with side trips to Kearsarge Pass and Gardiner Basin.
Yeah, still waiting on that TR, which I am sure you are diligently working one, and had planned to post very soon, right Zac. ;)
Professional Sierra Landscape Photographer