The necessity of a bear canister

Share your advice and personal experiences, post a gear review or ask any questions you may have pertaining to outdoor gear and equipment.
Brien
Topix Acquainted
Experience: N/A

The necessity of a bear canister

Post by Brien »

I've been backpacking off and on in the Sierras for probably 25 years and I've never used a bear canister. I've always put my food in a bag and thrown it over a tall branch away from camp. Even though I've never had a problem, I know my food storage isn't ideal. So I wanted to get some feedback from others on this technique and if it is adequate of I'm just running on borrowed time.

For lunch and dinner I only eat freeze dried meals that are sealed. For the mornings I pack coffee, creamer, sugar and oatmeal which I seal into individual meal packets with a food sealer. I also pack energy bars (not sealed). I put all my food in a dry-bag and host it at least 15' off the ground.

Is this food storage sufficient?
rlown
Topix Docent
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: The necessity of a bear canister

Post by rlown »

It depends on where you go. If you visit a place in the Sierra, that requires the can and you didn't take one, that would be completely illegal. If they stop you, you generally will be turned around and made to walk out.

If you go to someplace like lets say Trinity Alps or FS land that doesn't require a can, then what you do is probably fine as long as you trust your skill on hanging food properly.

If you do a search on the upper right hand area of the site for "bear canister" you will find a ton of discussion on the topic. This topic also should possibly be relocated to the Outdoor Gear Topic, but not my call.

And don't say Sierras again. It makes Markskor boil over. :)

Russ
Brien
Topix Acquainted

Post by Brien »

Thanks for the info Russ. I didn't know there were some places it was illegal to go without a bear canister. I'll do a little more research.
rlown
Topix Docent

Post by rlown »