TR: 5/25/13-5/27/13 Kearsarge Pass to Kearsarge Lakes

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
larroyo33
Topix Acquainted
Experience: N/A

TR: 5/25/13-5/27/13 Kearsarge Pass to Kearsarge Lakes

Post by larroyo33 »

Hi everyone, this is my first trip report here. I am fairly new to backpacking. I started backpacking in the spring of last year with my wife in places around Southern California, and I instantly fell in love with it. I did not make it up to the Sierras until last September when I did two trips-one in Yosemite (Cathedral Lakes down to Clouds Rest and Half Dome and then out Tenaya Lake) and one to Big Pine Lakes. I quickly realized what I mistake I made, waiting until the Fall to make it to the Sierras. So, this year I plan to correct that mistake and backpack primarily in the Sierras. Here is my first trip of the summer.

I headed up the trail from Onion Valley at about 10:00 a.m on Saturday morning. I took my time heading up the trail because I slept at sea level the night before. I made stops along the way at Gilbert Lake and Flower Lake to check out the scenery.

ImageLooking Up At Independence Peak

ImageLooking Down At Gilbert Lake

ImageFlower Lake

I made it to Kearsarge Pass at about 1:45 p.m. The climb up was not as bad as I was expecting, the gain was steady and moderate the whole way up with no particularly steep sections. For some reasons there was no sign marking the top of the pass even though I have seen the sign in other people's pictures.

ImageMe At Kearsarge Pass

ImagePanorama Of The View From Kearsarge Pass

After enjoying the views at the pass, I headed down to Kearsarge Lakes to make camp for the night. I set up camp on a small hill above where the second lake meets the third lake.

ImageKearsarge Pinnacles and Kearsarge Lakes