First Cross Country Pass TR - Knapsack

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
BakoGal
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Post by BakoGal »

I’ve never posted a trip report here because I believe my hikes seemed a bit unadventurous compared to the off-trail gurus who regularly post here. But this year, after lurking and reading numerous TRs by rlown, kpeter, AlmostThere, Wandering Daisy, Hobbs, SSSdave, Rogue, copeg, maverick (please come back!), and all the rest of you, and in honor of quentinc, here goes:

This year, after sticking to trails and never wandering very far off, I decided to put my practiced navigation skills into use. I wanted to head over a cross country pass, and since I travel solo (and am a bit of a senior!) I believe in taking baby steps with anything new. I studied the Cross Country Pass section of HST, and decided on Knapsack Pass.

On July 23rd I headed out….and was quickly reminded of the throngs of folks on the Bishop Pass trail…yet another reason to explore cross country. Up and over the pass I went, and jumped off the trail at the upper Dusy Basin Lake. I headed over to Lake 11388 where, already, it appeared I had left the crowd behind. I remembered reading a post about good campsites near the outlet of the next lake down, due east of Isosceles Peak, and headed there. With the exception of a couple trying out their brand new fishing equipment (and having no luck) who left in the afternoon, I had the lake to myself. I had a lovely sunset on Mt. Agassiz and a clear, starry night.

The next day dawned clear and bright. Instead of dropping down to the lower Dusy Lakes and then going back up, I worked my way level over to the area of Knapsack. At one point I had this view…..