TR - Bishop Pass to Florence lake by way of JMT

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
overheadx2
Topix Expert
Experience: N/A

TR - Bishop Pass to Florence lake by way of JMT

Post by overheadx2 »

Just did a trans sierra hike from So. Lake to Florence. We had a great time, and except for some JMT hikers, we had each location to ourselves. I have started to look at JMT guys as hiking ghosts since you see them occasionally on the trail. but they just seem to walk and never stop to camp. Laconte Canyon was amazing, and Evo Valley rivals Yosemite in my opinion. Thanks to some Sierra Topixs guys, I made the hike to Darwin and another unnamed lake above Evo. Valley, and scored a wide open Rainbow / Golden bite for about 2 hours. Lots of bigger fish up high with all the little guys you could want along the trail. I am relatively new to longer pack trips, but the whole trip was more beautiful than any place I have ever hiked before (especially McClure Meadow). If you have never done the So. Lake No. Lake loop, do yourself a favor. While it is popular, it's popular for a reason. To be honest, we camped each night by ourselves, and always felt we were alone.

Thanks for all the help and advice given before hand, it was appreciated, Phil
cgundersen
Topix Fanatic

Re: TR - Bishop Pass to Florence lake by way of JMT

Post by cgundersen »

Phil,
With >35 million people in CA, I'm always thrilled by the seclusion the Sierra offers even on relatively busy trails. It's definitely a great way to re-charge! And, I bet the Florence water taxi was a welcome sight! Or, did you grind it out?
cg
overheadx2
Topix Expert

Post by overheadx2 »