yosemite hike from june 21-24 or 25th

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
john barrett
Topix Novice
Experience: N/A

yosemite hike from june 21-24 or 25th

Post by john barrett »

Hello,
I have become frustrated trying to plan a 30-40 mile hike in Yosemite for the dates listed above. The amount of snow and the road closures are making me not sure what I should do. I am staying a night or two in the valley and was planning on doing the Grand Canyon hike from Tuolumne back to the valley, but its not looking like the road is going to allow for this. My original idea was a loop through the Clark Range and that does not seem plausible either. I have hiked on the PCT all the way through in 08 so I have plenty of experience. I am not picky but the better the scenery and the fewer people the better. I appreciate any recommendations that anyone has. Just found this site and it has already proven helpful. Thank you, John B.
AlmostThere
Topix Addict
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: yosemite hike from june 21-24 or 25th

Post by AlmostThere »

The road isn't the only problem - there's also the creek crossings! Grand Canyon has a few bridges along the route, but there are a couple of creeks without bridges that will be very dangerous. (The Grand Canyon of the Tuolumne doesn't go into Yosemite valley, btw, it goes toward Hetch Hetchy.)

How about Hetch Hetchy high country? Maybe by then it will have melted out enough - the loop up Beehive and out to Jack Main and down Tiltill to Rancheria would be in your mileage range. You may be walking in water in some spots but p'raps it won't be snowy.
maverick
Forums Moderator
Forums Moderator

Post by maverick »

Hi JB

JB wrote ". I am staying a night or two in the valley and was planning on doing the
Grand Canyon hike from Tuolumne back to the valley, but its not looking like the