How did you learn navigation/topo reading skills?

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
miked
Topix Acquainted
Experience: N/A

How did you learn navigation/topo reading skills?

Post by miked »

I'm curious how the expert off trail navigators here went about learning how to read a topo and navigating in the wilderness. Was there a particular source you found helpful? were you guided by others?
AlmostThere
Topix Addict
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: How did you learn navigation/topo reading skills?

Post by AlmostThere »

I'm not an expert, but everything I learned was from reading things like the OA navigation guide and coursework, either from local resources or from search and rescue.

I find that teaching others really helps me hone the skills and keep them fresh, too.
rlown
Topix Docent

Post by rlown »

Map skills started in boy scouts (map and compass stuff), but that wasn't as helpful as the basic and advanced seamanship classes taught by the coast guard auxiliary. On the water, you can't always see the rocks, but they had great sections on laying out a course, following it and adjusting as you go.

When i take a map, I generally mark it up with sightings before i go out, so i can refine where i really am in the field.

I admit on trips in heavily wooded areas, i like my gps. The map/compass still come along..
Wandering Daisy
Topix Docent

Post by Wandering Daisy »