Trip Advice

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
seisner
Topix Novice
Experience: N/A

Trip Advice

Post by seisner »

Sorry to post the primitive "help" request, but need to pick a route on short notice and this is the best resource, so here goes . . . Just decided to do a 3-day, 2-night trip this weekend with the family. I have plenty of experience in the backcountry and my 11-yr old daughter has been out with me a bunch of times, but this will be a first for my wife and 6-yr old son. My wife has done lots of long day-hikes (15-20 mi. round-trip) but has never been out overnight. I want to go somewhere on the Eastern Slope, south of Yosemite, with a strong preference towards something close to Mammoth because we can easily bunk there Thursday night. I suppose I would consider the Western slope also (Dinkey Lakes seems to be a top recommendation for this type of trip), but I just know tho Western slope much less so for the first time taking the whole family I gravitate towards the Eastern slope.

Key objectives are: (1) short hike on trail, thinking 3-6 miles - I figure I will load up and the little one will go pack free and the wife and older kid can carry their share (looking to do out and back); (2) not terribly steep - little guy can handle a solid hike, but less steep would obviously be better than straight up; (3) low on the skeeter scale - I know they will be tough to avoid, but some spots are better than others; (4) good exploring during the layover day; (5) ability to have a fire; (6) decent fishing. I'm sure I am forgetting something, but those are probably the top ones.