McGee Canyon TR

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
millertime
Topix Acquainted
Experience: N/A

McGee Canyon TR

Post by millertime »

I'll start by saying I'm new to hiking in the Eastern Sierra, I'm used to the greater Tahoe Basin, as I live in Roseville, Ca. As far as the Eastern Sierra's go, I've hiked from Agnew Meadows up the river trail to Thousand Island Lake and back on the High trail, and to Lake Ediza from Agnew on a different day, both trips taking place last summer. I was already acclimated when I did both these trips, and had no issues whatsoever on them. Hiking in Tahoe, as everyone knows, is all under 10000ft, mostly around 7500-9000ft on average, with some of the peaks reaching around or are barely over 10000ft. I went with two friends and my buddy's dog, neither of which have been to the Eastern Sierra, though we are experienced in Tahoe. With that background info, here is TR, albeit embarrassing.

At 7am, we met at Wes's house and headed off for the hwy 50>89>88>395 route towards bishop. Due to some traffic in Folsom and on 89, our trip was 6.5hours to Bishop instead of 5.5. We picked up our permits in Bishop and took our 30 minute drive back up 395 to the McGee Creek rd.

We started the hike into the beautiful McGee Canyon (which I hiked two miles into last summer) around 3:30pm.