Suggestions for trip with 7 year old

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
dgbaak
Topix Newbie
Experience: N/A

Suggestions for trip with 7 year old

Post by dgbaak »

I'm looking for suggestions on a backpacking trip with my 7 year old son.
My backpacking experience is probably level 3 but this is my first time with one of my kids. I'd like to go somewhere we can do a little fishing and generally just have a good first time experience. I'd like the trip to be 3 days/2 nights, no layovers, a loop, and probably not more than 4 or 5 miles in a day. Main area of interest is western Sierras as we will be starting our trip from Visalia.
Thank you for any suggestions on helping me introduce my son to the Sierras for the first time.
Strider
Topix Regular

Re: Suggestions for trip with 7 year old

Post by Strider »

The Kaiser Ridge loop from the Upper Billy Creek Campground on the north side of Huntington Lake. Nellie Lake is an easy days hike, and has decent fishing. The next day over Kaiser Ridge has great views, and the trail comes down near the stables, or you can extend it to hit some other lakes to the east.
'Hike long and perspire'
balzaccom
Topix Addict

Post by balzaccom »

I would make a couple of suggestions. Given that you son is only 7, I wouldn't want to start with a long car trip before the hike. That means you should be looking at something within a couple of hours of Visalia--leaving out Desolation Wilderness--and really anything north of Yosemite. And even Yosemite would require more driving than you need.