Kearsarge Pass - Trip Advice

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
seisner
Topix Novice
Experience: N/A

Kearsarge Pass - Trip Advice

Post by seisner »

So I've been lurking here for a while now, enjoying your trip reports and photography (thanks for that - very impressive stuff!), and now need to jump in for some advice. I have a 5-day / 4-night trip planned for July 8-12 going in over Kearsarge Pass. I've not been there before so I'm hoping to get some advice. I have a lot of experience in the Sierras but mostly out of Bishop, Mammoth or Tuolomne Meadows. The group I am going with has less backcountry experience but is strong and fit and more than comfortable in the wilderness. I'm thinking of doing 8-12 miles on the first day depending on how the day goes (we'll spend the night before at Onion Valley campground but the acclimitization factor will likely still slow us down), and then finding a spot to camp along Bubbs Creek near Lower Vidette Meadow or Junction Meadow. Then on Day 2 continuing on to East Lake or Reflection Lake and make that a home base to do some day hiking and peak bagging. Definitely prefer not to to do 5 days with packs on - looking for more of an out-and-back with a couple of layover days type of trip. My top priorities are the following (not in order): (1) good scenery and opportunities for photography, (2) low crowd factor, (3) good day-hike exploration opportunities, (4) just an overall fun time! Good fishing would be a plus and the ability to have a fire at least a couple of nights is key. General preference is to stay on trail while we have the packs on, although some off-trail would be fine and off-trail on our day-trip explorations would be welcome.