Mono / Parker/ Donahue Pass Trip

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
snusmumriken
Topix Regular
Experience: N/A

Mono / Parker/ Donahue Pass Trip

Post by snusmumriken »

Hi,
First let me introduce myself, since this is my first post.
I've been backpacking a lot for the last two or three years, mostly in Yosemite. Got bitten by the bug when I went on a three day trip with a friend, hiking from Tuolomne to Yosemite Valley. Been going every chance I get since then. Did the JMT last summer and loved it. My trail journal is here: http://www.trailjournals.com/Kristin/

There is a trip I've been wanting to take that looks great on the map, but I've never met anyone who's actually hiked it, so I'm looking for feedback here among all you experienced Sierra hikers. It's a loop of sorts, that covers three mountain passes, some lakes and lots of high country. Has anybody done this one?

This is a rough outline of the trip, planned for sometime in August.
Day 1. Drive up and spend the night in Tuolomne to acclimate a bit.
Day 2. Start in the morning from the Parker/ Mono Pass trailhead on 120 just beyond Tuolomne Meadows. I would head up to Mono Pass, enjoy the view of Mono Lake from the top of the pass, then head back down the way I came half a mile or so, then up and over Parker Pass, spend the night next to a creek (there appears to be several creek crossings a bit beyond Parker Pass.)
Day 3. Continue on the trail past Algier Lakes. This looks like really high country 10,000 to 12,000 feet, I'll be forward to that. Today I'll camp at one of the lakes in this area, maybe Waugh, Weber or Sullivan (recommendations?)
Day 4. Loop around and visit some more lakes, probably both Garnet and Thousand Island, and finally end up at Marie Lakes.
Day 5. Hike over Donahue pass and spend the final night in Lyle Canyon.