Trip Advice: South North Lake Loop (Counter Clockwise)

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
mbehlen
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Trip Advice: South North Lake Loop (Counter Clockwise)

Post by mbehlen »

HI HST!

Well, the time has come! I have a permit out of south lake for Thursday the 24th and am finalizing some routes/plans. It's my first time in Evo and I am thrilled! I have read a lot of trip reports but wanted to ask for a check-up of my planned route and ask for some feedback!

I am a level 3 backpacker and plan on 7-8 days. On the trail, I can do 12-15 miles/day. Off-trail with route-finding would be 6-8.

My main objective is to capture the best scenes through my lens for photography as possible. Any tips on spots would be awesome too! The secondary is gaining experience in route finding and scrambling.

Day 1: South Lake to Dusy Basin (where to camp?)

Day 2: Dusy Basin to Wanda Lake

Day 3: Wanda Lake to Saphire Lake to setup base camp - Hike to Mcgee Lakes and Back (too short of a day?) I could possibly explore the lakes on the eastern side of the basin too. Any tips?

Day 4: Saphire Lake to Darwins Canyon / Bench

Day 5: Darwins Bench to Alpine Col to Muriel Lake (If too sketchy, Lamarack Col and camp on the other side and out Day 6)

Day 6: ????

Day 7: Out

Day 8: Extra Day/time just in case.

Thank you as always for your help!
cgundersen
Topix Fanatic
Experience: N/A

Re: Trip Advice: South North Lake Loop (Counter Clockwise)

Post by cgundersen »

Hi M,