Summer Eastern Sierra trip - Looking for advice!

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
jfbruin34
Topix Novice
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Summer Eastern Sierra trip - Looking for advice!

Post by jfbruin34 »

Hi everyone, I’m fairly new to HST but found this amazing community invaluable in 2020 to help plan a few trips.

My buddies and I are in our mid-thirties and live in LA/OC/SD and have gotten really into hiking these last few years. We have done a bunch of the SoCal peaks (Baldy, Gorgonio, Ontario, Cucamonga, etc.) and got lucky enough to win the Whitney overnight lottery in 2019 and we summited. Last year we did a day hike over Kearsarge from OV and thought Kearsarge Lakes was one of the prettiest things we had ever seen, and I spent some time in Glen Aulin in Yosemite and loved it. We’ve also done some short 2-3 night backpacking trips in other NPs but all on trails. Our most experienced guy has done quite a bit of backpacking and another has done guided trips up Mt. Baker and Mt. Reinier.

We want to do a couple of 3-4 night Eastern Sierra trips this coming summer and am looking for advice.

Here are the details:
- 3-4 nights total (including one for acclimation if needed)
- Most of us are prob Level 2, a couple level 3
- Would like to stay on class 2-3 terrain
- Open to a little snow but only what would be ok with micro spikes and poles
- We all did ok with altitude over Kearsarge and summiting Whitney
- Aiming for late Jul / early Aug to avoid mosquitoes
- Prioritizing big mountain scenery, lakes, some high elevation (but peak bagging not so important)
- Prefer loops but open to there/back
- Ideally like 8-10 miles per day but we can make the occasional push

So far I’ve been reading HST a bunch and from that we’ve been considering the following, but open to all suggestions: