Difficulty of Planned Route?

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
lockmangabriel
Topix Novice
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Difficulty of Planned Route?

Post by lockmangabriel »

As of right now I'm planning a first trip to the Sierras in the Sequoia/Kings Canyon area, for around mid August of next year. I've worked up a proposed route but as I have no experience hiking in the Sierras, I figured I'd ask about the relative difficulty of the route given the time frame we plan to complete it in (10 nights/11 days). It is pretty much a conglomerate of the lower third of the Big SEKI Loop, Skurka's KCHBR, and Alan Dixon's SoSHR. I have quite a bit of experience hiking in the southern Appalachian Mountains which often does entail lots of elevation change, but does not compare as far as altitude goes. Since my partner and I will be carrying all of our food (we have agreed to take 3 canisters to hold everything :( and have figured out a way to evenly distribute the weight between us) our fully loaded starting pack weights will be around 45-50 pounds, not quite ultralite, which also factors in to the determination of the difficulty the hike. We are both athletic and used to training with heavy loads, and are definitely up to big challenges, as the feeling of accomplishment is one of the very best things about backpacking. Please feel free to give any constructive criticism if any of the individual days seem to be too overbearing, as well as any advice on parts of the route I could change (comfortable with cross country travel) to make it even better!

Thanks, Gabe

Here's a link to a CalTopo map of the route
https://caltopo.com/m/4FRS
rightstar76
Topix Expert
Experience: N/A

Re: Difficulty of Planned Route?

Post by rightstar76 »