TR: John Muir Trail (Rush Creek to Whitney Portal)

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
xiainx
Topix Acquainted
Experience: N/A

TR: John Muir Trail (Rush Creek to Whitney Portal)

Post by xiainx »

Hey all, I wrote up a trip report about my hike of most of the JMT (Rush Creek to Whitney Portal) a couple of weeks ago. Hope you enjoy, and this is my first time doing one of these, so if you have any feedback I would appreciate it. Thanks!

https://macdonaldiain.wordpress.com/201 ... roduction/
tlsharb
Topix Regular
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Re: TR: John Muir Trail (Rush Creek to Whitney Portal)

Post by tlsharb »

Iain, that is a really well done tr. Two observations: #1. the first thing on your food list is Starbucks Via. That stuff is amazing-- I start every day in the backcountry with some Italian Roast. #2-- anyone who says they didn't train specifically for the trip, but runs 70 miles per week, has an odd view of training :). Once again thanks for taking the time to put this together.
ts
AaronRDavis
Topix Regular

Post by AaronRDavis »

I enjoyed these photos and reading your report, thank you for sharing it.
oldhikerQ
Topix Regular

Post by oldhikerQ »

Nice trip report and photos to match.
Thank you for sharing.
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I — I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
Robert Frost
happycamper0313
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 2 Backpacker

Post by happycamper0313 »

Great report! Your fitness is amazing. Awesome job completing the trail in the time you gave yourself!!

Your assessment of Rush Creek trail was on point. I was there June 23rd because I had spent 4 days in the Lee Vining area for a mountaineering course, and was looking for a nice day hike on the last day of the trip.