Please critique/advise June 13-25 route

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
tekisui0
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Please critique/advise June 13-25 route

Post by tekisui0 »

Hello!

I was planning a completely different route but work responsibilities changed so now it looks like this is my available time frame. Of course there will be much snow and dangerous creek crossings, but I'm mostly wanting to find out if this route is feasible. I have quite a bit of backpacking experience, with a fair amount of XC in many different landscapes including the Sierra. Hiked a large loop out of Mineral King - Black Rock Pass with a bit of XC up in Big Arroyo, as well as some shorter trips incl the Benson Lk - Matterhorn canyon loop. I have limited snow experience but I would like to work on that. I've been backpacking in snow a handful of times with microspikes and hiking poles and without hardcore exposure. I'm not opposed to buying (and learning to use) crampons and an ice axe - Do you think they will be necessary on this route? I'm hoping to do some fishing and take a day or two off.