Early Season Advice

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
Sierra_Summits
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Early Season Advice

Post by Sierra_Summits »

Hey y'all it's my first time going early season...i usually go in july and august. I have the chance to take a week off this spring and wanted to get out into the sierra. i was thinking of doing the some things around northern kings canyon and into the mono divide. I was hoping to avoid the mosquitos hatching and get some great photos of SOME snow on the peaks. i looked at the bug reports from last year and they seemed to come out in early to mid June. What is your best guess for this year. I was thinking may 18th week might be early enough but not too much snow on the passes.

I definitely want to get into the higher country and avoid places like emigrant wilderness.

What level of backpacking experience do you have?

Level 4- Comfortable with trail and/or x-country travel

What terrain are you comfortable/uncomfortable with?
Im comfortable with class 3 travel

- River crossings

No more than knee deep

- Snow travel/Glacier crossings

very little experience

What is your main interest?

- Big Mountain scenery
- Photography

How many days/nights is your trip, not including travel to trailhead?

5-6

How many miles did you want to do a day, any layovers?

8-10 no layovers

Do you have a route logistics preference: loop, out and back, point to point (which
may require 2 vehicles or hitchhiking)?

loop
"Heaven is here on Earth!"

--Bob Marley
oldranger
Topix Addict
Experience: N/A

Re: Early Season Advice

Post by oldranger »