Trip/Route advice (Mineral King / Other?)

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
chufi
Topix Novice
Experience: N/A

Trip/Route advice (Mineral King / Other?)

Post by chufi »

Hi, my GF and I are planning on getting up to the High Sierra for some backpacking over an extended 4th of July weekend and were looking for some advice on where to go. We have one route we are looking at but would be amenable to other suggestions. I filled in the request for info questions below, but the short summary: I have a lot of backpacking experience in my past, but none recently. Probably last 'real' trip was 15 years ago doing 50-60 miles through kings canyon starting at south lake. Recently it is just lots of day hiking and camping. My GF has a lot of camping / day hiking experience and some backpacking (she did a week in yosemite last year) we are late 30's in pretty good shape. We did a test hike with 35lb packs this past saturday at 11.4 miles and a little under 2k elevation gain. A bit sore afterward but not a problem during the hiking. Wouldn't want to do that in the high country (we were at sea level in the SF bay area.) The loop we were looking at was: Mineral King to Pinto Lake -> Big/Little Five Lakes for 2 nights with day trip(s) -> Columbine lake -> Mineral king and the drive home. Is that reasonable? Is snow much of an issue this year given the drought? Other thoughts? Thanks!

What level of backpacking experience do you have?
- I am Level 3, she is Level 2.

What terrain are you comfortable/uncomfortable with?
Comfortable with Class 1 and 2, not super in love with river crossings if they are really flowing but not a big deal, don't want to deal with anything that requires crampons or ice axes. At least this trip.

What is your main interest?
Big Mountain scenery, Photography, Lakes, Forest,